See this image larger
"'I'm sick of fast food. I mean, look at the legs on that thing"

See this image larger
Cooking with the boys

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Easter Basket
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Thank You Card

Shared Food Tracker
Interact with BORN2BIRD
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am Kim and I am a married 37 year old mother of two boys (Ian 5 and Ethan 3). Two babies in three years does NOT do the body good.

Just a little extra information. I am an avid birder (hence, the screenname) and when I realized I would have to live in a cardboard box on the street due to the pitiful salary, I switched my career from Ornithology to government contracting. The cons I spend all day indoors now and it is boring. The pros, I can feed my children and I no longer have poison ivy on my everything.

I look forward to getting to know everyone.

UPDATE October 14, 2011: Those babies are 7 and 5 now and I am in the best shape of my life despite being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis on January 28, 2011. I have bad days but most are good and I don't let the bad stop me. I run 4-5 times a week and am always doing things with my boys.

My hubby jumped on the bandwagon with me and has lost 30lbs and looks and feels great. He runs as well though we don't run together.

This journey has taught me that I can do anything I set my mind to. I want to instill that mindset in my children and be a good example of health for them as they grow.

Member Since: 4/29/2008

Fitness Minutes: 995

My Goals:
-Reach 130-140 lbs by July 1, 2010. DONE
- Run a 5K without dropping dead DONE
-Fit into and look good in a 2-piece bathing suit NOT QUITE

My Program:
-Eat between 1100 - 1300 calories a day.
-Run 4-5 times a week
-Walk with kids 3 times a week.
-Be active with the family every weekend; outdoor activities as much as possible.

Personal Information:
I am from Maryland and have lived here all my life. I am looking for a change of scenery and may take a 2 year gig overseas if I find one that works well for my family.

Other Information:
Recently diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Learning to cope with meds and my new normal. Refuse to let this stop me. Training for a 1/2 marathon and running at least one 5k per month this year.

Read More About BORN2BIRD - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 14)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 42.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (50):  123Next >Last >>