See this image larger
from Dec 10, 2009. At 129 here.

See this image larger
My boyfriend and I are members of the same martial arts organization.

go to goodies page
Water Bottle
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Spa Visit

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with GCINCINNATI
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm Gina-Marie and I'm an artist living in Germany. I moved here in '09 and am loving living with my boyfriend and living my dreams:) Living in Germany has been a goal of mine since I was 16.

I used to work for a college. Here, I'm a Buisness-English teacher for a language school. I love it. It's a new challenge every day, and I get to meet new people which is definitely the best part.

I've been about 85% gluten and dairy free since 2009 and I am surprised at how much I really DO NOT miss bread and dairy. I miss cheese (and eat it) sometimes, but not too often. I thoroughly enjoy being able to eat without having a stomachache and extra fatigue afterwards! AND I never feel so full that I might burst anymore. Thanks, lack of gluten and milk products!

I've been living a healthy lifestyle for a long time now.

It all started in 2003, a few months before I graduated from college: I ended up in the hospital with an emergency surgery that left me laid up for a month or so, on a liquid diet, and recovering slowly. I lost a LOT of weight, and had been at a steady 120lbs. before that.

After I was out of the hospital, I was at about 100lbs. I looked sick. A mess. Gaunt. I tried to gain the weight back, and WOW did I! I ended up just below 150 pounds (I am only 5'2") a year later!!!

So that's when and how it began.. and I am here now, so I guess I've come pretty far already.

My 2006 diagnosis with Multiple Sclerosis made me MORE adamant about eating well and living a healthy lifestyle. I am lucky, my MS is relapsing/remitting and is not nearly as bad as it could be. I had two pretty bad relapses over the summer of 2009 that were back to back, but have been feeling great since then. I'm currently working on regaining the strength and balance that I seem to have lost during the 3 months of relapses.

Oh and P.S. I have MS, IT DOES NOT HAVE ME!!!

I love my life, and I love being here in Germany and I enjoy being healthy. I'm thankful that I have a supportive partner that doesn't allow me to falter as much as I would like to sometimes:)

I still love my life and am completely happy in Germany:) And my boyfriend still rocks.

Member Since: 4/5/2006

Fitness Minutes: 26,050

My Goals:
To continue to be happy and confident about my life, body and actions.

To not have to buy more clothes unless I FEEL LIKE IT!!

My Program:
I do cardio as often as possible, martial arts 3x per week and go rock climbing 1-2x per week.

Personal Information:
from Baltimore, MD
living in Würzburg, Germany

29 years old


Other Information:
I like sports and just being active, a LOT!!

Martial Arts (Kobudo)
Running + Walking
Rock Climbing

I am really, REALLY into music. And I love sharing it with people!

Read More About GCINCINNATI - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 296.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hey Gina...I hope all is well. Hugs, Gloria

    Happy Holidays!
    3505 days ago
  • v no profile image HIDDENSWAN
    I first looked at your page to see what your connection is to Cincinnati (where I grew up) and Maryland (where I live now). But after reading your blog it seems that, in any case, we're sisters in bad hospital experiences. It sounds like you are over the worst for now and have your life under good control. I wish you and your partner well.
    3642 days ago
    emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

    Happy Fourth of July...2010

    emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

    3654 days ago
    The trick with tracking on the metric system is to get yourself a small digital scale for the kitchen. Mine cost about 25 euros. It is very flat and I shove it between cookbooks when I'm not using it. Everything is easier after, including making recipes in French, and more accurate.

    I'm off to look at the brand, it is so easy and logical to use I would never change if it broke...

    TEFAL 3 kg max, king of oval shaped, digital, this one is 13 years old and still going strong.
    3815 days ago
    WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    3819 days ago
Member Comments (36):  123Next >Last >>