See this image larger
Mother's Day gift, "Tilley" 051509

See this image larger
Family cycling together!

See this image larger
My three sons; Todd, Caleb, and Bradley.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
go to goodies page
High Five

Interact with GUIN0001
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I was diagnosed with diabetes on September 30, 2007. To avoid undesirable side effects I had to take control of my health. Through diet and exercise I successfully lost 30 pounds. With plateau I increased my fitness level. I discovered Spark People during a search for the nutritional content of summer squash. Now I am pumped, determined, losing weight, and feeling great. For the first time I know I can reach and maintain goal.


Well, my one year anniversary has come and gone. It's hard to believe the changes and rewards, certainly not all I planned and hoped for but many steps in the right direction.

Established lifestyle steps:
* drink 8 or more glasses of water/day
* well established fitness routine
* daily monitoring of nutrition
* 5 or more fruits/vegs/day
* consistent goal establishment
* established support system
* on-going fitness and well-being education
* 10,000 or more steps/day

* 7 or more hours of sleep/night
* staying within calorie range/portion control
* tighter self-control
* confronting emotional issues

I am certainly a changed individual in all manners of my life. I am happier and healthier than I have been in my life. I know I would not have the consistency I do without SP and the support of it's members, my friends.

My family is joining the health wagon I believe through my influence. My two sons living @ home enjoy the healthy offerings whether it be conveniently cut up fruits & vegetables or the SP recipes I opt to try. My oldest son has switched his family to whole grains and reduced sugar. We all get together frequently for active outings. My DH doesn't complain about my frequency or duration at the gym, it's as much a part of my routine as brushing my teeth.

I look forward to comparing next year to this one, think of all the opportunities for positive lifestyle changes I have between now and then.

Member Since: 4/28/2008

Fitness Minutes: 28,479

My Goals:
*BMI less than 25
*12 sit ups without support
*15000 steps/day
*60 minutes cardio 4X/week; 30 minutes cardio 3X/week
*strength training 3X/week
*ride my bike @ least 20 miles/week

My Program:
Daily pep talk to self

Varying exercise 5-6 days/week

Daily tracking of nutrition

Staying within my calorie range 6 days/week

Getting to bed by 10 pm, up @ 0430 workdays, 0600 days off

Personal Information:
Donalie Guin, born & raised in Clifton Forge, Va.but residing in Raleigh, NC since 1983. I've been happily married to the same man for over 20 years. I am a mother of 3 boys and grandmother of 2 girls & a boy.

Other Information:

Read More About GUIN0001 - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 159.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (595):  123Next >Last >>