MOLLIEMAC
40,000-49,999 SparkPoints 48,010
SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia



See this image larger
Orchids drive away the winter cold.



See this image larger
Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Fresh Veggies
From:
Move It, Lose I...
go to goodies page
Happy Face
From:
REENSKI
go to goodies page
Coffee
From:
ZIPITUP
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with MOLLIEMAC
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


January 13, 2018

I rejoined Spark July 1, 2017 after being away for six years. At the time I felt comfortable with my weight (140 lb.) and my fitness level but wanted to reexperience a community that would keep me accountable for what I ate and for my activity.

In those six years I experienced many firsts: a hip replacement which has been a 100% success and game changer, another grandchild (a very dynamic girl), a new house and neighbourhood, the graduation of my daughter from eleven years of veterinary studies, adoption of a plant based diet and sadly the death of my husband.

I have now been following a vegetarian diet for over a year; feel well, energetic and now weigh 120 lbs. This is obviously much lower than my original goal of mid 130's. Besides maintaining a one acre property by myself I am walking an average of 25-30 miles per week and I am gradually increasing weights in a strength training program. For years I was bothered with a chronic cough that required inhalers at times, that is now totally gone. Once high lipids are now normal as is blood pressure.

Goals for October 2018 and beyond:
Maintain my present weight.
Increase my weight lifting program.
Maintain a 90/10 ratio of vegetarian/vegan diet.
Start planning for travels in 2019! A girl needs fun after all!


Member Since: 10/7/2006

Fitness Minutes: 142,323

My Goals:
-to maintain my goal weight
-challenge my body and mind daily to keep both engaged and healthy
-to share ideas and support with other SP members


My Program:
-weight training 3X weekly, upper and lower body with intensive core work
WALK, WALK AND MORE WALKING DAILY
-total plant based diet
-daily reading, singing in the winter months, gardening year round
--active exploration of my community, province, country



Personal Information:
I'm a farm kid from Alberta, lived in Ontario for 25 years and have now settled in the Gaspereau Valley of Nova Scotia. I have two adult children and two grandchildren. Two cats and a rescue pooch keep me busy.


Other Information:
I love to garden. Crosswords, singing and reading keep me busy when the snow flies. Cooking is also a delight- I'm always looking for new ideas for vegetarian meals. I am passionate about diet and exercise and firmly believe that we do have the power to keep ourselves healthy by eating well and being active.




Read More About MOLLIEMAC - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 30)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 current weight: 119.5 
140
134.875
129.75
124.625
119.5
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v LENORE048
    emoticon emoticon the Holidays! emoticon I'm in control! emoticon
    1 day ago
  • v WATERMELLEN
    You live in a part of the world I love: and had not realized you must have retired there? from the Windsor area? (cross referencing a HARROWJET comment).
    3 days ago
  • v WATERMELLEN
    https://nationalpost.com/news/hockey-at-pe
    ggys-cove-lighthouse-photograph-become
    s-instantly-iconic

    Did you see this gorgeous photo -- taken not far from YOU!!
    3 days ago
  • v GETULLY
    Thanks for the blog love about the spinning wheel going for repairs. All CPWs were made in Canada but all I have from this one (no history at the village - not even a date when it arrived at the village) is "Vezina with muffler strap tension". I need to do more research to find out the first name and location for building the wheel. So much to do and I think about it all when I am at the village and do not have access to a computer and when I get home I have my on-going to-do list for home things as well as village things. How did I get so much done when I worked 40-60 hours a week?!?!?
    3 days ago
  • v MARTHA324
    You are so right about the cookies....I knew when I bought them I should have just given them away. And Fletcher got his own "doggie cookie" so he didn't share in the treats.
    3 days ago
Member Comments (766):  123Next >Last >>