See this image larger
Me and Den in 2000 at my max weight of 298 lbs.

See this image larger
Me with new Sisterlocks-April 2011

See this image larger
Me and Den at my co-worker's birthday party June 2012

go to goodies page
Boxing Gloves
go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page
Checkered Flag

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with POETCHIK
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, I'm Tamara and I have struggled with a weight problem most of my life and I am using this site to help me get in shape and get responsible about my eating and exercise habits.

I am 6'0 and the most I've ever weighed is 298 lbs. I started a weight loss program a few years back and got down to 249 lbs and currently I am down to 198 lbs. I was originally trying to get down to 160 lbs but after doing some reevaluating, I've decided the 180 lbs will be better for my height. Although I have my ups and down, as long as I keep trying, I know I'll reach any goal I set out for myself.

Although I'm orignally from Huntsville, AL, me and my husband decided to relocate to his hometown of Bakersfield, CA and I'm excited about started this new chapter in my life and am happy about the progress I've main in regards to losing weight and getting healthy.

I also take photographs as a hobby to keep my hands occupied so I'll eat less. If you'd like to see my pictures, here's the website:

Member Since: 8/16/2006

Fitness Minutes: 76,736

My Goals:
I would like to get healthy to reduce my risk of becoming diabetic since a lot of my family members have this condition. I also want to be able to shop at more places. As we all know, plus size clothing isn't always the best looking clothing in the world.

My Program:
Exercise 30-60 minutes everyday either by using exercise DVDs or by going outside and exercising. Run on the weekends or whenver convenient.

Personal Information:
Name: Tamara Evans
Residence: Highland, Ca.
Current Job: Library Media Technician
Biggest Achievement: Graduating with a Masters Degree in Library & Information Studies in August 2009

Other Information:
Favorite movies: Blazing Saddles, Coming to America, When Harry Met Sally and others

Favorite TV shows: Flip this house, Family Guy, Designed to Sell, What Not to Wear and others

Read More About POETCHIK - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 195.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (92):  123Next >Last >>