20,000-24,999 SparkPoints 24,834
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Thank You Card

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with REBIRTH60
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am the principal of a middle my job, by the way. I have two beautiful, smart, successful daughters, two wonderful sons-in-law, a dog, and one cat, one husband. My lab, Sophie is almost 13 years old, and I told my husband no more dogs, but he pointed out that I would be lost without my pets. We shall see. One son-in-law is currently determined to find me a puppy.

Update...Proud owner of a new rescue Jack Russell terrier named Rosie!

Over the years, the pounds just crept up on me. Can you believe I was once skinny? I lie to myself and say, "It's my thyroid, menopause, age, bad knees, back pain..." Actually, truthfully, it's my lifestyle. Too many sweets, bread, sitting and sitting and sitting instead of moving are the real culprits. I move all day at work, but that's not real exercise.

I was so on track last fall to reach my goal, but then extracurricular responsibilities at work, a bout with depression, then the holidays...I got derailed. I gained 10 pounds in four months. My takeaway from that is that I truly have to put my health first.

I battle hypothyroidism, but I can't blame everything on that.

My goal...and this will to retire in June 2019. I want to retire healthy, fit, downsized, and ready for the last third of my life.

Participating in challenges keeps me motivated and accountable.

I have worked my entire life, and I'm trying to figure out how to have fun. I tend to make everything work. So...I'm open to suggestions :-).

Member Since: 10/11/2015

Fitness Minutes: 16,523

My Goals:
Lose 10 pounds during the Fall 5% challenge.

Stay gluten free - amazing what this has done for me in just two weeks

Weight training three days a week

7500 steps every day

My Program:
I follow Spark Coach and track everything. With the help of a nutritionist I am gluten free and focusing on veggies and protein

Personal Information:
Alabama football fan...Roll Tide!

Avid reader

PhD in Educational Leadership

Trying to figure out HOW to retire...what will I do...can I successfully's going to be an adventure. Just trying to plan.

Other Information:
I am an adjunct instructor for a university in their educational leadership department.

BUT...more importantly...I am a fun person, love my family like a crazy woman, love to bike, swim, go to Disney World and scream like a maniac...I'm just enjoying life!

Read More About REBIRTH60 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 3)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 203.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (110):  123Next >Last >>