See this image larger
My 'Scooter Girl', Brooklyn Rose

See this image larger
Chaka dog at 5 months

See this image larger
Me at my heaviest Thanksgiving, 2005, with both daughters.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday

Interact with MIZSTEAKS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I've always been a SAHM of 3, but they are grown kids now and I have 10 grand Sprouts from the ages of 2 months to 20 years. Started out being such a skinny person I got put on a 5,000 calorie a day diet by my doctor. Oh my...that was some years and MANY pounds ago! Had to have a hysterectomy when youngest child was only 8 months old and that hormonal insult began the 'gaining decades'. Then I stopped smoking (YAY!) about 5 years ago and put on the final 40 pounds of the 70 to 80 extra that hide who I really am. Somewhere inside this fat suit lives the skinny gal who thought she would never be fat! LOL! Ah, the conceit of youth!

I have heart problems, have had triple by-pass, have Type 2 diabetes, arthritis and a variety of other, mostly age and/or size related ailments. Makes it hard when you expect your body to react the way you think it should and always has and have to deal with the way it actually IS. Even more troubling is looking in the mirror and seeing Dear Old MOM! LOL! Can't stop the aging process but CAN stop the gaining process...and intend to with the tools this site provides.

I live on a tiny farm here in Oregon that I call Heaven on a Halfshell. We are the only house on a dead end road off a dead end road off another ALMOST deadend road. Really private, really quiet, but close to everything. Hubby just retired and we are learning to live in real closeness. Got a new lab/retriever puppy April Fool's Day and he keeps us laughing and busy and broke!

My main goals are to get healthier, to eat wisely and well, to be flexible and strong enough to attend sporting events for the Sprouts and to be a good example to them and their parents.

Member Since: 7/10/2006

Fitness Minutes: 32

My Goals:
To get off some of the medications I take for diabetes and heart disease.

To wear some of my smaller clothers...DUH! LOL!

To be able to breath while cutting my toe nails!

To see my grandchildren grow up and be a good example for them when it comes to healthy choices with food and exercise.

My Program:
I ride my stationary bike almost every morning before my first cup of coffee.

I have cut back on the amount of coffee.

I am weighing and measuring my food.

I am making MUCH wiser choices with food.

I am MUCH more active and aware of how much I move.

I am more motivated because I am with a group of people striving for improvement just like I am!

Personal Information:
Live on a mini farm in Oregon with my retired hubby and our 6 month old puppy. Our 3 grown children all live close by and we get to see our 10 grand kids quite often. They all love coming to the farm and we share the veggies, fruit, eggs and meat we raise with all of them. Life is very good!

Other Information:
I am a very upbeat, optimistic person. Would much rather view my glass in terms of half FULL as opposed to half empty. When it dips below the half way mark I simply pour it into a smaller glass. Some days I drink out of a thimble...but it is still half full!

Read More About MIZSTEAKS - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (69):  123Next >Last >>