go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Bear Hug

Interact with OBNURSE3
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a 44 yr old single mother of four very active kids (11-19)
I am a maternity nurse at the local hospital. I love my job, don't love the hours. I am a 11p-7:30a nurse and have put on a bit of weight since beginning on this shift. Cons: lack of sleep and tired days= less exercise Pros: available to cheer at my kids afterschool activities....hey they're only young for a little while I can sleep when they graduate!!!!

Goal: Lose 50 lbs....I used to be an athlete in my youth...played on a national championship womens ice hockey team in the mid '80s but don't even own skates anymore...I have been asked to join a few local teams but always say " when I lose a few pounds" I'd like to get back on skates...starting off with a lot of public skating which will help burn some calories and maybe do some assistant coaching next season.

other hobbies unrelated to my childrens activities are cross stiching, scrapbooking, suduko, enjoying our local beaches, volunteering for the American Cancer Society Relay for Life


Best Wishes to all my new friends at SPARKPEOPLE together we can do it. We may fall off the horse several times but we can help each other back on. Much health and happiness to you!

UPDATE 1/5/11
So I am presently in the process of a divorce...which I have blogged about....husband's midlife crisis ended with an affair with a coworker 17 yrs his jr. With the lose of 43 lbs my confidence grew in leaps and bounds. After working on my marriage for nearly a yr I called it quits and came to the realization that I was mourning something I longed for and not what I really had. My daughters put me online dating and i tried that out for a bit but was not finding the type of relationship I wanted. I decided I would answer one last email and give it a break for awhile....and then it happened. He lived right down the road..our kids go to school together. His wife cheated on him around the same time but he quickly went the divorce route. We have been together for 4 months and going strong. Actually considering moving in together in the spring if he does not get deployed. kids love him as much as I do. and I get along great with his kids too. Funny part of the story...our first date was on my anniversary. life is good!!!

6/30/11 update
OK ended the last relationship...another forty something cheating with a twenty something...no patience for that. Done don't want to hear the excuses! I deserve so much more. That ended in mid March. Divorce is now finalized. I have reached the 50 lb weight loss..feels great!! set another goal for an additional loss of 20 lbs by Christmas. Now wearing size 10 comfortaably...don't recall wearing a ten since early high school maybe even middle school. I have changed on both the inside and out..much more accepting of myself and so much happier in my life with others and myself.
7/10/11 Update comfortably in size 8...tried on my daughters size 6 shorts and they fit...a little too short for my liking but ok in the waist. Yipee!!! Couldn't be happier or more proud. Can now run two miles uninterupted.
12/26/11 managed to back track a bit. Wearing size 10 but more comfy in a 12. Back up to 188 from 175. Time to get serious again. On the social front have dated a few nice men but not the one yet. Like to take a little knowledge from each relationship I am in.
2/16/12 yipee met my goal of 175..total loss58 lbs feels good but doesn't look the way I had invisioned so added another 10 lbs to the weight loss goal. Would like to get there (165) by my birthday in May.

5/22/13 I was reminded today I should update this...
My weight floats around 171-173. (60 lbs lost) As much as I would love to see the 160s on the scale I think this is my bodys check point and what is healthy for me. I have been here for close to a yr. This past Jan I celebrated 10 yrs cancer free and gave myself a gift of surgery to repair the nasty abd scar that cancer gave me..while having that done I had abdominoplasty to tighten the damaged muscle..it had a 4+ inch seperation. It was uncomfortable and left me unable to exercise for nearly 3 months but it looks great and has given me new confidence. I continue to exercise daily..the things I most enjoy are cycling, hiking and trail running. On the relationship front..I have learned to love myself alot more and to take the time to find the right one for me..I date but take things day to day...I am ok being alone..which is a big step. At one time that scared me into dating men I had little in common with. So thats a little update!

Member Since: 1/29/2009

Fitness Minutes: 42,062

My Goals:
Loss 50 lbs in 2009

Wear a size 12 pant comfortably (I am presently in size 18 comfortably or 16 with a muffin top!! Not pretty!)

Have more energy to do the things I love and not just be a spectator in life.

My Program:
I love soda and sweets. Any thing baked is hard for me to deny....I can not stop at just one. I have committed to stop with the soda and home baked goods ( I love to bake). Once I have broken a few habits I will attempt to have the self discipline to enjoy only an occassional single serving of home baked sweets as I don't want to deny myself of the good things in life but I do want to have self control.

I will increase my daily exercise which is the biggest challenge as I do not want to miss out on enjoying my kids activities and can't afford to lose more sleep (Many days I only get 4 1/2 hrs)
So that is my challenge and the goal is to figure out a healthy resolution to it...Any suggestions??

I also will choose what I eat more cautiously including more fruit and vegitable in my diet and less carbs.

I will check into SP daily for motivation

Personal Information:
I am from Cape Cod, Mass

I have lived here most of my life leaving to live in Germany for a short time while in H.S, and Florida while in college. Met my husband in Florida. He is originally from NY

I am a colon cancer survivor. Diagnosed when I was 35 with 4 little ones at home. I have had a clean bill of health for 6 years now!

Other Information:

Read More About OBNURSE3 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated December 14)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 186.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (252):  123Next >Last >>