15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 19,737
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Flower Pot

Interact with SKAHONEY4U
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hello, I have been on an off on Sparkpeople since 2012. I have been trying to lose weight since pretty much forever (age 12 or so). I am 37 now. I’ve been through some very difficult times lately and have spent the last couple of years just trying to survive and not really living. I had some blood work done recently, and the results were not great. The blood work results, number on the scale (highest ever), and my feeling like crap have led me to the decision that I need to take better care of myself- for me and my 2 year old son. I moved around a bit for my PhD, but now I’m back in Chicagoland, where I grew up. I love to swim, but am unable to do so right now (and most other exercises) which makes it all the more harder. In 2018 I slipped on some ice and messed up my knee, I still need more surgery on it and need a cane to walk.

Member Since: 10/4/2006

Fitness Minutes: 8,979

My Goals:
Get my asthma under control- doctor visited,5/8/16 taking medication, hopefully it starts working!
Get my migraines under control- doctor visited, 5/8/16 taking medication, hopefully it works; however, side effects are pretty harsh.
Start walking 3x a week
Start swimming again - July 2016
Get better control of the eating situation -already doing better as of 6/9/16. portion sizes and binging much better!
Find a full time faculty position

My Program:
Starting 0 to 1500 swim program.- started July 2016
Walking 3x a week working up to 30 minutes
Hope to add Zumba
Limit all sugary drinks (including starbucks, soda or iced tea) to less than 1 per day - 6/9/16
Drink plenty of water - 6/9/16 on the ball with this one too!
Work on portion sizes- doing well with this, 8/2016
Eat more dairy

Personal Information:
Born and raised in the Chicago burbs. Undergraduate work in cell and structural biology at the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. Worked at Rush University in Chicago as a clinical research coordinator for 2 years after college. Moved to DC to do my PhD at Georgetown University in tumor biology. Lived in Fort Collin, CO. for a year while my (now) husband tried out a PhD program. Now, I am an adjunct professor at some Universities in Chicago teaching biology, nursing, and non-majors a number of biology courses including cell biology, microbiology, and pathophysiology.
I am a Chicagophile for life!

Other Information:
My hobbies include: singing, reading, playing video and board games, baking, and swimming.
I have been enjoying PokemonGo with my husband lately.

Read More About SKAHONEY4U - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 23.7 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (219):  123Next >Last >>